Do You Think Refretting Would Be Worth It?

My main acoustic guitar (a 35-year old Jullian acoustic. As far as I know the manufacturer stopped making guitars a long time ago) is quite difficult to play. I've been playing guitar for about two years now, so I'd like to think I have pretty moderate finger strength. Sometimes I seriously have to put all my effort into pushing the strings down to make a clear tone, especially on upper frets. Is this problem due to maybe worn down frets? Improperly set action? It's frustrating as hell to people like Ken Block and some other acoustic players breeze through notes around the 12th fret with beatiful vibrato. Hammer-ons and pull-offs are viritually not existent on anything past my 8th fret.

So my question is, would it be worth it to re-fret everything, or should I just wait and buy a better, new guitar?

Out of curiosity- it IS a steel string Acoustic, isnt it? When I first started playing many, many years ago, my guitar teacher told me to take the classical strings off the gitar, and replace them with steel strings (it was actually a classical guitar, but had a steelstring bridge on it)

Suffice to say, after a few months, the problem you describe presented itself.

It is possible you have steel strings on a classical guitar?

Luke

Out of curiosity- it IS a steel string Acoustic, isnt it? When I first started playing many, many years ago, my guitar teacher told me to take the classical strings off the gitar, and replace them with steel strings (it was actually a classical guitar, but had a steelstring bridge on it)

Luke

I know for sure it isn't a classical guitar. The bridge/nut/headstock are all consistent with a steel-stringed guitar.

I measured the action at the 12th fret. It's approximately 4 to 4.5 mm from the top of the fret to the bottom of the string. Is this too high?

Edited by JackyB

Hahaah, thats cool then :D