Ppg Prima K36 - Wow!

JTisMe

For those of you who shoot a lot of auto body refinish product this may be old news but I shot an Ash strat yesterday with this stuff. all I can say is wow. Builds fast, dries quick and sands easier than anything I have *ever* shot. It was cold here in Washington yesterday as well. While it's not cheap it is now permanently on the rotation for any solid color (or even car:-) that I do from now on.

Also, since I had retired my old primer gun I pressed a Harbor Frieght garvity feed HVLP with a 1.4 tip into service. Even running the lower pressures I like to in my garage I was able to get good build with no spits.

Did I mention that I like this stuff :-)

-jeff

Builds fast, dries quick and sands easier than anything I have *ever* shot.

Hi,

I'm just getting started finishing a guitar for the first time. I'm using auto spray (primer, color coat, clear) in rattle cans.

I'm wondering what you mean by 'builds fast' ?

Could you describe the process you're using?

I'm a bit confused about how to proceed, I've read through the Reranch site, and the StewMac trade secrets and others, but I'm still trying to figure things out...

So far I've done a couple of coats of sealer. I'll sand the second one tomorrow, then I want to do the primer.

Then I sand the primer, right? What grit do you use for that?

And what grit do you use for the color coat?

Thanks for any tips!

Mickey

Mickey, The info on the Stew-Mac and ReRanch sites is applicable to the instrument specific applications the materials they sell are designed for.

That being said some concepts are universal. One being the better you prep the surface you are finishing the easier each subsequent step will be.

Get the wood perfect before you whip out the product and you'll be smiling later.

On to specifics: