Wanting To Build An Acoustic

I am in the process of building my first electric. I have been playing acoustic for about 4 years and electric for about a year. I have a crappy takamine G series and want to upgrade but nothing under $1000 satisfies my craving for tone. IS building an acoustic a whole lot harder than an electric (I am doing a hollow body electric with a 1/8" top) Do you thinmk I can expect results better than $1000 dollar guitars?

i'm not really interested in a kit because the only thing it does is give you the wood cheaper (and it gives you bent sides which would be nice) I would much rather just go out and buy my wood rather than get it in a kit. What i'm looking for is like a VERY in-depth tutorial on how to build one as I dont exatly have the entire process planed out in my head, thers some steps missing that I dont know how to do(when I was planing my electric I knew what I was goind to do until the end.

Check out the links on Martin Koch's website.

There are a few books out there. The process of building a guitar is pretty involved, so, having a hardcopy with really good photos is a good investment. I've got an old Irving Sloane book and "Guitarmaking" by Cumpiano & Natelson, which used to be the bible. There are more books out there and some might be better. Go over to www.mimf.com and see what folks over there think about guitar construction books.

You know a kit is more than just bent sides (which you'd have to build or buy a bending iron for). I think the tops and backs are joined and thicknessed. If you've got handplanes and lots of patience (a thickness sander would really help), go nuts. The neck joints are dovetailed or mortised, which can be difficult to do yourself.