Time for Finishing my Guitar

Hey everyone... My project which I have been working on since 1999 is coming to a close by Christmas. The other project guitars are on hold until I get this done. I've been putting it off for WAY too long and this is my personal guitar...

Here's a picture the guitar:

gabe_jem.jpg

OK, well the neck is done, but that body is no longer with me so that's what I'm working on.

Now I need some advice... this new body is rear routed so a pickguard will not be necessary. In the above picture I feel the pickguard really helped in accenting the guitar body. So without a pickguard I can choose to just go with a bound body in black, or my other choice would be a maple veneer top that has a very dark gray burst on it. How do you feel about adding body binding on such a thing? Too much? It might go well with the bound headstock.

Oh, there will be more stuff added to the new guitar body too. There will be 3 pots and 2 mini toggles for the sustainiac. Plus, I will do away with the 5-way switch and add a 3-way Les Paul style switch just below the neck pickup. The middle pickup will not be there.

I'm photoshopping something now to get a good idea what this will look like.

And oh, Brian--- how do you think a gold bobbin topper would work over a sustainiac pickup driver? Any problems?

Gold and Black = :D (yummy)

Thanks!

Gabe

• 2 weeks later...

Either way you go I would recommend inserting a plastic straw between the pickup cavitys and adding fill to the center coil if your planning on making it go away like in your mockup.

You don't really have to do the straw thing but it does make it easy to wire compaired to re-drilling down through the neck pocket :D And the fill will hold it in place.

That way the veneer cap won't be weak in that area.

Either way you go I would recommend inserting a plastic straw between the pickup cavitys and adding fill to the center coil if your planning on making it go away like in your mockup.