Well Here's Goes Nothin....hehe

Simply put, I've been playing left handed guitar for about 6ish...maybe 7 years now. Simply as a hobby really, college has cut into my playing time drastically, it's been a good while since I've picked up my acoustic.

But since before I started playing, I wanted a Les Paul. D*mn they look good.

So here's my first attempt to build one. And going into it knowing I don't posses the skills of even a novice woodworker.....there were some shortcuts taken, esp in regard to the top contours.......and there's also no pitch angle to my top, more like....a bevel around the edges, lol. But all seems well thus far....so here's some pictures.

Pick it apart, set it on fire, praise it a bit, whatever, I'll take any comments I can get, any feedback is good feedback in my opinion. Just wanted to share this with the forum. And much thanks to those who've been so kind to answer my Q's along the way......

I'm done rambling now....

picture0029sk.th.jpg

The top is a slightly flamed maple, the flame got a hell of a lot more slight as I carved and sanded down...oh well, free maple is good maple in my head. The body is 3pcs of Black Walnut.....it's got a beautiful grain, again got it at the shop I work in for free, my boss dug it outta a pile for me, such a nice guy.

lespaulbackroute6xf.th.jpg

There's the back. I can't wait to give this a shot or six with the finish....a friend who works next to me used my extra walnut/maple to make an end-table, and yeah, the walnut makes for such a rich chocolatey color. I love it.

picture0170rk.th.jpg

Here's the majority of what I did by hand with a 3/4" gouge....I'm no woodcarver, but I'm happy with what I acheived in the end......hand sanding is loads of fun to do final smoothing......no. its. not. oh well, live and learn....right?

picture0408xt.th.jpg