Is This A Bad Idea?

I am nearly ready to begin my first project and seeing as it is my first build I have decided to buy the neck and the body from Warmoth. Basically its gonna be a San Dimas style super strat with a Limba body, Maple compound radius neck, EMG 81 in the bridge, EMG SA in the neck, les paul style wiring and the single string style bridges.

While browsing warmoth site I have found a few nice pre-finished bursts that have the look I want, unfortunately most of these are rear routed for trems. I could buy one of these at significant savings (about $200 less) over ordering a custom one. I would then plug the area of the rout where the trem block goes in order to have plenty of material with which to anchor the bridges. Has anyone done this? I assume if a limba plug fits snug, is glued and sealed the body should react like a single piece of wood. Am I missing something here?

No refinishing would be needed. The entire modification would be contained in the trem cavity and hidden by the back cover plate. I think I might have misinformed you, the areas that have been routed in the back have only been routed about 1 3/4" out of lets say 2" total thickness so the top is completely in tact (they have not even routed for pick ups yet).

Edited by Mitzlflik

Still, time and effort is money...

If you're starting out with having a choice (easy vs. hard), why choose hard?

It's different if you have an existing guitar that you want to alter.

But you don't.

You have the option of buying something that is right, or something that is "wrong" (and that you have to fix). For me, it would be an easy choice...

:D