Out Of Phase Wiring!

Lord-of-the-strings

Does anyone have a wiring diagram for wiring two humbuckers out of phase, with a five-way switch, and one volume and one tone knob. Would I need a miniswitch? I know, extremely noobie question.

On a side note is that even possible? I don't believe I've ever seen people talk about wiring humbuckers out of phase. Thanks :D

It is quite possible, however, you will need a mini-switch or a five-way super switch (to replace the 5-way switch you have) to do it the way you would like it.

I would be happy to draw a diagram for you if you want. What combinations would you want with your 5-way switch? Also, would you want to use a mini switch or a super switch?

p.s. I realize that I am a newbie at guitar building, but I do feel, however, that I am quite capable of doing this for you if you want :D .

Edited by patman

Does anyone have a wiring diagram for wiring two humbuckers out of phase, with a five-way switch, and one volume and one tone knob. Would I need a miniswitch? I know, extremely noobie question.

On a side note is that even possible? I don't believe I've ever seen people talk about wiring humbuckers out of phase. Thanks :D

I think I'd just want to do it with an on off on dpdt switch, one on being neck pup out of phase, and the other on being bridge pup out of phase, if you could draw up one that'd be great!

Wiring one pickup out of phase with the other is pretty much the same whether you switch the bridge or the neck. It'll cancel the same frquencies regardless, so unless you're hung up on "absolute phase" (and that's a silly argument for another time and place), it's pointless to switch more than one.

Wiring one pickup out of phase with the other is pretty much the same whether you switch the bridge or the neck. It'll cancel the same frquencies regardless, so unless you're hung up on "absolute phase" (and that's a silly argument for another time and place), it's pointless to switch more than one.

+1