My Wenge Capped Les Paul !

Hi guys...this is my first build submission here but after seeing GODINS wenge guitar posted and seeing some similarities i thought id post some pics of the wenge capped les paul i built last year!

The guitar is all les paul standard spec except for the wenge cap and slightly thinner body to reduce weight of the heavy wenge cap ...so basically mahogany neck, maranti ( mahogany family) body and carved wenge cap ( all done by hand)..me and godin must think alike as he chose the same metal pick up surrounds as me, switch and even ebony fingerboard...my only change to the trad les paul set up ( i own a few gibsons) was reversing of the vol and tone control parallelagram shape so the volume sits closer to the playing area for volume swells ( i have small hands) although saying this on future les paul builds i will revert back as i dont like change too much .

Pick ups are currently bareknuckle "black dogs" although these are to be changed as the black dog is a mid range boosted pick up...and until i built it i didnt realise quite how mid range wenge is so i will be changing them soon to give me more treble ( for another bareknuckle model as they rock !)....they are tapped on the pull pots ( tone controls) and because of the mid range i find myself playing with both humbuckers tapped to sound more like single coils/trebly which wasnt my plan

Hope you like the pics if i can work out how to insert them ?

w4.jpg

Headstock wenge veneer is a bit rushed needs more sanding and oiling

whole guitar is oiled by the way no lacquer.

Edited by Dan Salter