Applying Veneer

Hey, I just bought a big piece of Veneer im planning on putting on the top of a guitar.. I sanded down the guitar, and now when I unrolled the veneer, it came in a big piece, not sheets.. The veneer is not totally flat.. so I just put it under some weight to see if it will flatten down abit, but I have my doubts that it will be flat enough for glueing on..

Now I read somewhere, think on PG here that some veneer's are done using a vacuum, so the veneer is flat to the wood. Im not sure how to do this, and not sure I have the materials. so is there any other way to make sure the veneer is flat against the wood? I also saw that theres a Veneer flattening roller thing, not sure if thats what I would need at this point but im so lost lol this is my first project guitar

Anyone able to help? Thanks

You basically need a large flat clamping caul that covers the entire top of the guitar, not as good as a vacuum but passably in the home workshop situation. The caul needs to be dead flat and thick enough so it wont distort. I have had good results using an off cut from a kitchen worktop, the kind thats 2" thick chipboard with a plastic veneer on it. I use a sheet of greaseproof paper between the veneer and caul to make sure it doesnt stick. I also put an extra caul that goes along the middle of the body to make sure that the worktop isnt bending at all. If someone is having a kitchen fitted near you see if you can get he sink cutout from the new worktop, should be just about the right size.