Painting The Pickup Covers And Pick Gaurd

Hello Everyone.

I am a painter but this is the first guitar and I had a question. I have painted the pickgaurd and pickup cover on a mexican strat. Wondering if the combo of paint and clear has any effect on the sound. The pickups are mounted to the pick gaurd.

I have included a pic of the project before clearcoat. Any advice is appreciated.

Allan

jimi.jpg

Paint on a solid body electric shouldn't effect sound output. If you notice any difference then I guess you better call the Guinness people. BTW, AWESOME paintjob! Make sure your clearcoat is compatible with the color coat, but I have a hunch you know your business in that area. :D

Paint on a solid body electric shouldn't effect sound output. If you notice any difference then I guess you better call the Guinness people. BTW, AWESOME paintjob! Make sure your clearcoat is compatible with the color coat, but I have a hunch you know your business in that area. :D

Thanks. I thought as much but was not sure because of the pickups being mounted to the plastic not the body.

As far as paint I have a little expierence. The paint it Dupont , House of Kolor automotive base coat and it will be cleared with a Dupont high soilds clearcoat. I have actually cleared it and am in the process of polishing.

A little about my experience

Creative Cycle Works

Nice work!

Yeah, that is nice. A friend of mine GAVE me a very nice airbrush set. Looks like I should start practicin.

Thanks Guys. This is actually my first portrait although I airbrush quite a bit. I just finished a wicked darth vader spare tire cover. I painted this guitar for free for a talented friend who is a working and touring musician. He saw the pictures and commented " I should have given you a better guitar because this will get played a lot now".

Nice work!

Yeah, that is nice. A friend of mine GAVE me a very nice airbrush set. Looks like I should start practicin.