First Project... Any Comments Or Suggestions...

Hi All,

total newbie when it comes to refinishing and rebuilding guitars so i'm just asking for advice or comments before I suddenly make some huge error...

Bored with strats/lespauls, I've gone and got myself an eBay Tele. It's (originally) a Squier Master Series thinline tele - HH, Semi-hollow, Bound laminate top with a set (yes, set) maple neck. Plays/Played pretty well, but sounded weak and the yellow varnish job was a bit disgusting.

So.

Enter a handheld mouse sander and a large bag to put everything non-wooden in.

I'm planning on the following:

Sand all the finish off and then ebonize the back, sides and neck. The top I'll prime and spray silver (think gretsch silverjet, only minus the silver flakes and plastic). Body finished in gloss lacquer, neck in satin.

Hardware replaced with sperzel locking tuners, and a new standard tele style bridge but with a humbucker sized hole. I've seen some cheap, some not-so-cheap, but what's the best thing to do? Buy a cheap one and replace the saddles, or go straight for a Gotoh bridge? The routing for the humbucker is already in place, however the problem here is that the original bridge seems unique to the guitar, and trying to get a standard tele bridge to fit it may casue serious problems with string straightness etc - any advice on refitting a new bridge would be appreciated since this is the first time i've tried anything like this.

Electronics replaced with a Kent Armstrong P90 in the neck and (it was going to be a KA motherbucker, but for fear of turning into a muse/manson wannabe) a DiMarzio D-Sonic in the bridge - flipped so that it's more geared towards standard tuning. If I can coil-tap this one too, then I will. Kind of debating whether or not the D-Sonic is a good idea, or go for a SD Custom Custom (SH-11)