Tell Me Why Not!

Being a total newbie to guitar building but being a competent Cabinet Maker, I would like some suggestions as to why or why not to go ahead with this.

Thinking of getting a cheap squire from here Venue Music in Australia and pulling all the hardware off. Thickness sand and probably add a veneer too both sides (or a nice Quilt cap?) and add some binding and refinish..

Would this be the cheapest route to getting a nice custom Tele?

Look forward to your responses, cheers martrix...

Last Affinity I saw was incredibly poorly constructed. I mean, it's the low end of the Squier line, which is already a low-end line. Both the Johnson and Stagg teles I eventually bought were better builds than the Affinities I saw, and every bit as good as the other Squiers.

Otherwise, your idea is fine. Except, if you're already experienced with wood-working, then you ought to consider making the guitar yourself --building the body is the easy part (especially if you use the Affinity to make your templates). I started off by modding the Johnson I bought, but I'd never worked with wood before.

You could buy the Squier and harvest it for parts, or better yet, just buy the parts --you can pick up a better quality neck for example.

Regardless, once you start (and technically you've already started), you'll no longer be able to stop. By this next year, no doubt you'll already be building your first neck...

No, no, don't try to resist. It's too late. :D

Well that is another option I guess, harvesting it for the parts and using the whole thing for a template. In that case there is an even cheaper one believe it or not :Dhere. Not too sure what the difference is?

When you say poor build quality, can you give me examples for the clueless?

Well that is another option I guess, harvesting it for the parts and using the whole thing for a template. In that case there is an even cheaper one believe it or not :Dhere. Not too sure what the difference is?