Cnc Software Question

I'm a total noob at CNC. I've read through all the threads here and the one linked from here to the Gear page. I had some experience with AutoCAD at school years ago.

Is there a piece of software where I can layout on my home PC in 2-D the exact dimensions of what I need, then bring a file on a disk (CD) to a shop with a CNC, insert the disk and have it carve out what I need on a piece of lumber (which I would also supply). I would presume the most popular CNC's for this seem to be Haas or Fadal?

What software might allow me to layout the 2-D cuts at home, and bring the disk to a CNC shop?

I don't know what software Haas or Fadal might be using to operate - they may just run off a straight *.nc file. The primary toolpath software that I've seen is Mastercam, but that's not really something you'd use at home (fairly expensive, and not very easy to use). I also think that Mastercam has to be configured to your particular machine's specs (ie, you need to know the right numbers to set up the tools before it lays down paths with them, or all your dimensions are going to be off).

Most of the toolpath software packages will also have 3-D positioning for the head of the cutting tool - it's not likely just going to punch out the outline in a clean sweep, especially on something as thick as a guitar, and is probably going to require a couple of passes.

You best bet? Use a CAD file, and let them convert it. If you know of a place, call and ask (heh, they'll for sure be the best source for answers to what you've just asked).

NB: my experience in this stuff is a few years out of practice, so if I've said anything wrong here, and stepped on my crank, please speak up.