Pick Up Wiring Problems

parsley

Hi I'm new so sorry if I'm covering old ground. I've had a look around and can't see a similar problem. A few months back I'd been having some problems with the bridge pick up on my old strat copy, it kept cutting out or sounding low in volume. I figured that after 20 odd years I should take the opportunity to change things. I'd always fancied putting in a humbucker at the bridge in place of the SC. Looking around I decided to buy a Wilkinson all in one drop in pick guard rig with 2 SC's and a HB at the bridge (WHSN, WHSM and WHHBA B are the pup refs). Initially everything was fine and I loved the tone. However after a few weeks the old problems seemed to creep back. I looked around this forum for ideas and decided to re-do the soldering as I'm a newbie to electronics. However no luck, so after months of using only the middle and bridge pickups I'd decided to address the problem with your help.

For your info if I touch the HB when playing or press the volume control or the 5 way switch, the HB momentarily sounds as it should. I think it must be my soldering or the wiring is suspect inside. I've had a close look at the wiring and compared to some of the info on here and it's left me even more confused.

The wire from the HB contains 4 separate leads. Red and white which are soldered together and taped off. A black which is soldered to one of the 8 lugs on the top of the switch unit and finally a green wire which has wire surrounding it. The green and the wire surround are soldered to a lug on the side of the switch units metal casing, not the top. Also a couple of the individual wires that surround the green lead appear to have come loose from the solder joint on the lug.

All that said I seems odd that I have the same problem as previously. Should I be checking something else? Any help or suggestions to end this long running problem is appreciated. I have a multimeter and I'm not afraid to use it!

Thanks