Pickup Rewinding Newbie

brettgsimpson

Hello!

I am brand new to lutherie, but I have been accepted to lutherie school for next year, and I am trying to be as prepared as possible for the course.

I've refinished my old Peavey guitar with a lot of help from the lessons on projectguitar.com, but I'm getting into pickups now. My ultimate goal is to be able to make them entirely myself, but I think I'd like to work my way up. First I'd like to just rewind my Peavey's pickups as I hear this can stop them from being so microphonic. I really don't care much about that guitar, but I think it would be a good practice step before my ultimate goal of overwinding my MexiStrat pickups to give it a more bluesy feel, like John Mayer's signature strat. My Strat's had a few operations to date, including the addition of another string tree and the elimination of the floating bridge, but I want to be careful with her. Does anyone know the best way to go about this, and how many times I should wind the pickups to give them the sound I'm looking for?

Thanks,

Brett.