Saga Kit Vs. Byo

Hey everyone...newbie here.

I just finished my first Saga strat kit and it came out "ok"....I had a problem that most others had, getting through the sanding sealer. I did a search for other kit comanies and found BYOGuitar.com

has anybody ever done any of their projects?

Apparently, their kits are all unfinished......ie. without sanding sealer!!!!!!! So, for anyone who lacks the space or funds to spend money on woodworking tools, BYO looks like a better idea for a kit than Saga. The difference in price doesn't appear to be that different. I plan on getting their Les Paul kit when the taxes come back..

You've already completed one kit, what more do you think you're going to learn from completing another kit?

Just asking.

I personally don't trust kits because it takes a certain level of quality to put together a guitar worth playing. I don't think that companies can achieve that level of quality and still sell a product for under $200.

That having been said, I've completed a Saga kit and found it to be a complete piece of junk.

Haven't ever heard of the BYO brand, but I've seen quite a few websites selling the exact same kits under their own brand names, so I doubt the quality will be any different.

For $200, you can get a decent guitar from an established company that will play better than a kit. My $200 Ibanez GAX70 was the first electric guitar I've ever played, and it used to have the best playing neck and perfect frets for what I like..... Until I used it as my scalloping project *evil grin*

But if you simply MUST have another kit to build, I'd suggest you check into Carvin. They are the only company I've seen whose kits have got fantastic reviews.

Then again, for $350 for a kit.... see the argument above. I don't don't see what you stand to learn from building - nay, assembling - yet another kit.