Pink Strat Body Rescue Mission

I'm new here (long time reader of PG though), so first of all: hi to everyone!

I'm a guitarbuilding newb (again, long time reader) and as a first project I decided to get a 2nd hand body that's been rather butchered internally and see if I can turn it into something half decent. I doubt if it's ever going to become a real guitar, even if I get a nice finish on it, just knowing what is underneath might stop me from that. Some pictures first:

pinkstratbody.jpg

Why there's an extra deep slot around that center pickup rout is beyond me...Anyway, what I'm considering doing, for practice purposes:

-strip the pink

-fill the screw holes

-put in some extra wood, like the trem to hardtail tutorial on PG. Maybe also install some extra wood in the pickupcavity, not sure if that's useful though (thoughts?).

-refinish the body in a red or blue burst (the most essential skill I hope to acquire from this).

again: this is a practice project to acquire some first woodworking and finishing skills. I do hope to get some comments on what is feasible and what's not...All suggestions welcome.

Hmmm...Yes, maybe there used to be P90s in there or something similar. Still a pity that it's a deeper rout at the edges. I forgot to say: I'm taking my time with this thing. I've got another body which is mint (and untreated) and I hope to start on that one in about 6 to 12 months, depending on the results I get with this thing. But I'll post progress pics every time I work on the pink bugger.

I've been pondering the following question for a bit already: say I want to do the trem to hardtail conversion, what would be the best way to do that on a strat rout (which is a bit different than an RG rout). I can think of about 3 or 4 different ways to do it (some requiring some extra routen), and I'm quite unsure what would be the most best way to do it.