Pickups

chops1983

Just a quick question! If you wire a p/u reversed(eg. Hot to ground and ground to say your volume pot or wherever its headed next) is that called out of phase or does it not matter which way the signal passes through a p/u?

And if it is wired that way will it change the sound of the p/up?

My guess is that it should not matter which way the signal passes through as its just a coil of wire around a magnet? Im no expert though so i thought i would ask all you clever kids!

Cheers Chad.

It is called "out of phase", but is really only able to be called anything when there is another pickup available to compare it to.

If it is the only pickup in the signal chain, then it should not matter and no, you will not hear a difference. But, where you will hear a difference is when that pickup is activated with another pickup simultaneously. Out of phase, this is how humbucking is achieved, but in that case it is not only a mtter of which lead is + or -, but the polarity of the magnetic poles as well. That's a simplistic explanation though, and I'm sure someone else with more knowledge on the subject can give a more in depth explanation.