Making A Floyd Rose Cavity In This Thingy

the tools i have for this job are a dremel trio, a small jigsaw and a drill for the holes,

im trying to put a floyd on this guitar body, I dont know where to exactly put it though

how can i be exact while routing the cavity? about how far should this cavity be from the bridge humbucker cavity? i have little experience but i can learn

http://img513.imageshack.us/g/pict6478.jpg/

im am using a takeuchi trs 101, im sure it has the same dimensions as an original floyd besides the D tuna i have.

what free template should i use? the ones on the floyd rose website dont print to size :D

can someone help me out?

Step away from the guitar, and put down the tools!

"How far away from the humbucker" is not a question to ask when placing a bridge.

The bridge position is determined by the scale length.

No offense here, but if that's foreign to you, then some reading is on order.

heh i understand it has to be 25.5 inches from the bridge to the nut right?

please tell me im right or ill burn my guitar and tools right away!!.. or take it to a luthier :D

Edited by esppse

burning your tools is a little extreme. theres no reason you cant do this RA16 was saying is you need to slow down some. get melvin hiscocks book and read it that should answer a lot of questions. one thing is your neck angled or straight even if its angled if it isnt enough you will have to recess the bridge not a big deal at all. btw you will also need a router and apropriate bits for this.

good luck

If you were to attempt this with a trio, which has some marginal routing capability (I own one), it will be a VERY slow process. Bridge placement and depth are rather exact and carving out a floyd cut with a 1/4" spiral bit will take a while (and a lot of patience, even with a template). +1 on Hiscock's book - even if you never build a guitar from scratch, it is quite helpful in how to maintain and setup a guitar for optimal playing - and it's only like $20.