Hi, I'm New Here/advice On Finishing Needed!

TheGarden

Hey, before I start, please be gentle, as this is my first project guitar! :D

Basically I had an squier strat affinity series (2002 I think) that I stripped the black lacquer/colour/plastic off (slowly, with a knife) and sanded down.

The wood I think is alder, I really like the look of it, it has an odd look unfinished... and since it's been sat on my workdesk, while I've been waiting on pickups/parts, it's acquired a cool yellowed/aged look.

Anyway.

Do I need to finish this guitar body? or can I just leave it as it is?

Are there differences in tone/volume/sustain that will be noticable?

And if, as I expect, it would be in my best interest to finish, how would I go about applying nitro to it? is it simple?

Will it make it shiny? (I know that sounds stupid)

Oh, also, I've cut some cavities in the body for a pickup on/off control plate and a killswitch,

if I were to nitro, should I do these bits along with the rest?

Thanks a lot, I have tons of questions so I'm pretty sure I'll be doing this very frequently from now on :D

Kind regards, Pat x

Edited by TheGarden

Welcome.

First, although we gripe about searching a bit - there are TONS of posts about applying nitro, how to, how not to, how it can go wrong - the key bit of advice is always PATIENCE.

Assuming you'll be using rattle cans of lacquer - there's plenty of finishing tutorials on here. I've even posted one about finish sanding here

Should you finish it? Ideally - frequently played guitars tend to get a bit grungy with no protection.. and we all know what can happen if you don't use protection.

Will it make it shiny?
- The "it" in that statement is you. You make it shiny, the finish just makes a clear coat.

Are there differences in tone/volume/sustain that will be noticable?