A Trio For Leo

Ripthorn

Let me preface this by saying that for a long time I was never a fan of Fender guitars. That was because all my experience was with those lousy ones that didn't have rolled fretboards or any of the ergonomic or aesthetic things I wanted in a guitar. All this experience was in a small guitar shop in the middle of nowhere, so they were all unexciting solid colors and I am a big fan of seeing at least a fair amount of wood grain.

Several months ago, I decided to build a tele, then thought "Well, I should probably build a strat, too, since I don't have any single coil guitars". After that, I decided I wanted a Jazzmaster. However, I didn't want to just knock them off, I wanted to reimagine them somewhat. I stuck to the body shapes, it is mostly the woods, electronics, and a few other things that I took liberty with.

Tonight, I completed the first one (the tele). I call it the Filtercaster. Why? you may ask. Well, I am a physicist and all my research at the university was in acoustics. As such, I did a lot of circuit analysis and filter design. So instead of just having the normal low pass tone control, I stuck in about a gazillion switches, 5 caps and an inductor. Now I have high pass, low pass, band pass, and notch filters available to me. How useful will they be? Only time will tell.

As for the rest of the electronics, there is a neck phase reversal and series/parallel options as well. All of this was crammed into a standard control cavity.

The body is solid northern ash (the unfinished body came in about 7 lbs.!) with shellac finish, the neck is curly maple with satin lacquer, the fretboard is unfinished monkeypod. Nut is bone and the board dots are mother of pearl both in the face and on the side. Pickups are Bill Lawrence Keystones.