Questions On Finish Repair

flyfishmike

Hello all,

Forum newbie here.

I am working on a old Kramer Strat style guitar, that someone put a pickguard on long ago. The electronics are in a cavity in the back of the guitar and the front is not routed out like a Strat. It's more like a Les Paul, in this regard. I want to fill in the pickguard screw holes, match the finish and make the repair as seamless as possible. It is an opaque gloss black poly finish.

I have done a lot of research on this repair, but have some questions:

1) Should I use wood filler to fill the holes or super glue? If filler, is there a good way to get the filler in the small hole and make sure it dries fairly quickly without too much shrinkage? I have seen people water down the filler and use syringes for this, but would worry about drying time and shrinkage. Will I need to sand the filler flat before applying color?

2) What should I use for color, marker or lacquer paint? Would an enamel paint work? Will a marker work on the filler or super glue?

I planned on using the drop fill method with super glue to build up the clear coat and follow the Dan Erlewine method of razor blading it flat and sanding/buffing to a gloss finish.

Any help/input would be appreciated

Good questions.

I've done similar repairs with car filler and over time (about 1-2 years later) had them shrink on me and change the outter finish. Didnt crack the paint, just sunk in. Apparently (so I was told) it was my fault cause I didnt seal the filler the same day I layed it.

AFTER MANY TRIAL AND ERRORS THE WAY I DO IT NOW:

Ive done this successfully many times and its quick and easy.

- Get a hardwood kebab scewer

- Cut the scewer into lengths deeper than your hole

- Sand the edge to a rounded point as if it's been in a pencil sharpener (I just hold and twist on my linisher for a couple seconds)

- Make a blob of wood glue onto a piece of scrap cardboard or something

- Dip the pointy end of the scewer it into glue