local wood store happens to have a lot of aspen in a lot of really conveniant sizes for sale relatively cheap (relatively as to maple, mahogany, and cherry). however, the store sorts its wood by hardness, and it was as follows:

oak, maple, cherry, aspen, pine

with it being right next to pine, as well as me not knowing a whole lot about it, it kinda scared me away from buying immediately. but for the price, i would really like to pick some up and use it (if nothing else) as a 1/2" or 1/4" top or back.

info and suggestions, please.

• 2 years later...

I know this is my first post, and i am very new to this hobby (i'm just starting my first project now), but what I found about Aspen wood, is that it is very similar to basswood in almost everyway. The only difference is that Basswood soaks up stain like a sponge, meanwhile Aspen reacts like normal woods. In addition to this, Aspen is in the Poplar family. So, I figure that you can expect a tonal range from Basswood to Poplar. Most info on the net that I found stated that it would be a great lead guitar body wood (comparing it to poplar and basswood), and will lend you a warm tone. As for a neck wood. I recommend using a harder wood to increase neck strength. I am going to use Aspen for my body on my first project and maple for the neck.

Joe

For all intents and purposes…Aspen = Poplar = Cottonwood. All part of the same genera Populus. It oughta work fairly well, particularly if it's inexpensive and abundant. B)

D'oh!!! Just realized this is an ancient thread. Thanks a lot, Bigjoe… :D:D

Edited by HVX

I know this is my first post, and i am very new to this hobby (i'm just starting my first project now),

Joe

Hey Joe: Cool info on the wood and welcome!