more help for the hopeless newbie

OK I have further plunged myself into bass making by buying woods (keep in mind i am a starving artist so I work as i get money)

I went to Home Depot and bought some poplar. I bought it cuz I happen to like that moldy green hue it has...and it was dirt cheap.

So I get home and I'm all like...yea I got wood and clamps and glue and junk, and then I realized that it was prolly not kiln-dried or perfectly flat. I also realized that they were only 3/4 of an inch thick but were around 2 to 3 feet long i don't remember the exact measurements.

My questions are:

~Should I worry about it not being kiln dried? If so, how do I remedy/get around this problem for little or no money?

~Should I worry about it not being perfectly flat, or will glueing clamping and lots of time remedy this?

~Given that they are only 3/4's on an inch thick, but long as hell, how many should I glue together to achieve the desired thickness? I was thinking two but maybe three would be better.

Thank you all for reading this and answering this.

Once I start building, I'll post pictrues and stuff.

~Eric~

SHAMELESS SELFPROMOTION:

go visit my bands site: www.purevolume.com/leftofcool

This is what you might want to do:

Do several searches. On-line, local phone book, etc, for hardwood dealers in your local area.

Use key words like:

Hardwood

Alder

Ash

Mahogany

Resaw

Find one, walk in, tell them what you're doing (i.e. openly ask for help) and there you will find something you can work with.

The poplar is OK to do your first experiments on, but don't hang the moon on it. :D

There are proper guitar woods that are very reasonably priced if you seek them out locally.

Hi Eric,

To answer some of your questions more directly.