A Few Questions On Router Bits And Neck Shaping Tools.

sdshirtman

Ok so I'm ramping up my tool collection to start my first build and I have a few questions.

I've researched some template router bits and purchased a 1/2 inch x 1' long bit with a bearing at the tip.

Here is the link:

Diablo 1/2" x 1' flush trim bit.

I'm also considering purchasing one of these top bearing bits. One from Stew mac or the one from Home depot.

Links

Diablo top bearing 1" bit

or the #0693

The stew mac #o693

I'm thinking the correct one to buy is the stew mac bit because its going to allow me to take multiple shallow passes as opposed to the 1" which will force me to take an inch of material at a time. This is correct is it not?

My other question is about buying a spoke shave for shaping my neck. I've been carving Tiki's for a few years and have a very good quality and very sharp 8" draw knife that I use for that purpose. I've seen some videos of people on youtube using this method and would rather not spend the money if I dont have to. I've done some test on a spare piece of maple and it seems to work nicely. You guys think I should just stick with this for the time being or would I be better off using a spoke shave. Would I have more control?

Edited by sdshirtman

I'll chuck in my feelings here:

Firstly what are you planning to do with the top bearing bit ? I mainly use mine for the final finishing of cavities so this makes the shorter bit the sensible choice for me as some of the cavities are barely an inch deep if that. If you are thinking of using the bit for the final shaping bodies against a template then the deeper bit is the obvious choice. To be honest i've got a 1/2" and an 1" one and if you can afford it i'd say get both - both have their uses and merits.