Hey all! Newbie here! :)

Hey All!

Newbie here. My name's Cory and I found my way here after being pointed toward Brian's site for a veneer tutorial. I really like the feel of the forums here with what seems like a tight-knit group of friends.

Me? Uh... I've been makin' music off and on throughout my 36 years and I worked my first major mod on an Electra Explorer when I was about... 14, methinks when I refretted Mighty Mite neck (with the help of the old man, Al, from across the highway) that was given to me, replaced the pickups, tuners, switches and controls, installed a Schaller bridge with fine tuners I got out of the Carvin catalog and refinished the plywood body with several coats of Krylon. :D:D Truth be told, that was the baddest sounding and playing beginner guitar I've come into contact with since then.

About ten years after that, I actually made an attempt to make a living with guitars that I built. I gave it up because I was starving to death. B) When all was said and done, I was getting paid about $3.00 per hour for my labor. Which is prolly about what I was worth when it came to building guitars. The guitars weren't anything special, really. I would purchase necks that had rather large profiles and reshape them to customer's preferences and build the bodies from templates that I'd made from the guitars I had at the time. I certainly was not a luthier. Hehe. :D But... I was (somehow) managing to eek out an existance building guitars and playing in bands. This would not have been achievable, however, if my diet had consisted of anything other than Beer and Top Ramen. Hehe. B)