Ash Body, Tinted/clear Finish

rick_here

Please forgive me if I've missed any Tutorials or pertinent earlier threads (I'm a Newbie here).

Also, I'm gonna be asking some some stuff and giving some of my opinions (at the same time) which I hope won't be too detailed or confusing.

My only experience with finishing a guitar came with a Carvin Bolt-On, Strat-Type Kit which I "made" about 4 years ago. I made some mistakes in the finshing then, lessons-learned, and am about to do another "build."

Here's what I have. A Tele-Copy Body (from Musikraft). It's a "Broadcaster" (1 & a half inches thick) and might be Hard (Northern) Ash; Musikraft didn't specify if it was Swamp (soft) or Northern (hard). It weighs 4.8 pounds and is "lighter" in color with no "reddish-ness" which is why I'm guessing it may be Northern.

So.

Here's what I've decided. I want to tint the body some shade of a Lighter-Gray (with no sunbursting). I also want to use a black tint/stain to bring out the grain. I'm planning to final-coat it with Minwax Wipe-On Polyurethane (based on certain opinions of others/ my tentative conclusion). I've considered Automotive Clear-Coat as well (prolly Dupli-Color, from all I've been hearing, should I go that route?). One advantage of the Minwax Wipe-On is that I'm gonna have to finish this inside (in my bathroom, to be honest about it)!

Questions:

1) What kind of prepping (the wood) should I do? Sand to what? sand-paper type/number? Should I use any kind of wood conditioner?

2) As to Staining; I want to do the black first (to highlite the grain), sand that down and then do the Gray-Staining. Right?

3) Filling The Grain; my current plan is to use the Wipe-On-Poly to achieve this..."as many coats as it takes" (the more the merrier, I'm figuring)....

4) Or, should I use a "black gel" Grain Filler (before the Gray-Staining)?

...somewhat perplexed....

So what do y'all think?

Did I miss anything "critical?"

(Thanx In Advance)

:D

rick

><>

Edited by rick_here