Blues Junior Died..

Stalefish

Hi guys.. My Blues Junior just decided not to work.. I played it this morning ok.. Then I turned it off and went out and when I came back to try to use it again, it didn't turn on..

When I turned the amp on, I could hear a very soft humming from what I'm thinking is the transformer but absolutely nothing else was working.. The humming's not from the speaker but from the back and the little on/off light's not coming on either.. I'm thinking it may be a blown tube but I'm really new to tube amps.. I did notice that one tube is a little bit blacker than the rest but not by much..

What's a blown tube look like?

I did opened up the back cover AFTER unplugging it and leaving it for a bit to hopefully get the caps to drain.. That got me a bit nervous.. Anyway, after poking around with a multimeter, I know that the 2 fuses inside the amp are ok and so is the fuse in the plug.. The switch also seems to be working.. Problem is that I don't know what the rest of the electronics do.. Any suggestions??

here's the schematic from Mr Gearhead:

Blues Jr. Schematic

From what you've said, it could easily be a filament power supply problem, so you might want to check to see if the filaments are glowing ( remember, they're not very bright, just a tiny orange glow barely visible). That's just a wild guess, though, and shouldn't be considered a diagnosis.

Some other quick things to check (if you feel up to it):

• Unplug it, carefully remove the chassis, and bleed the power supply caps (see the tutorial on this forum) - check for voltage across the caps before proceeding! Bleed caps again if necessary.
  • Check the board and wiring harness for any obvious disconnections, breaks or shorts.
  • Look for any signs of unusual heating (charring, warped plastic parts, etc.).
  • Check for leaky power supply caps - they should show an open circuit on your multimeter (after a momentary chargeup).
  • Pull all the tubes and check for broken pins, etc.