Just droppin in to say hi to all. I have been playing and collecting for 20 years and I am getting into building.....I am about to ask a stupid question.....where do you guys stand on composites??? I am toiling in that area. Feel like a mad scientist sometimes.

My goal is to use all poplur and use composites to reinforce the entire guitar as an exoskelton and no truss rod. I am experimenting with fiberglass....for now, it is cheap.....and then will move onto Carbon.....gggeeezzzz that stuff is EXPENSIVE!!!! I am going to play around with electrics and acoustics.....the composite angle mainly has to do with the fact I live in South Texas...meaning.....HUMIDITY!!!!! I am working out of my garage so to try and control humidity is not an option.

Anyone else charting these virgin waters? Oh ya stole most of my techniques from surfboard builders. HA! Special Thanks goes out to Jason at Tribal Surfboards....thanks BRO!

I LOVE THIS SITE. I would love to help out in any way I could....maybe we could start a composite section on the board...I have learned alot about that stuff.

Ed

i also have been considering a truss rod free neck.(adjustable anyway).my idea was a 5 piece maple/walnut laminated neck with 2 graphite reinforcement rods and a solid aluminum square tube down the center.seems like it would be stiff enough to resist bowing or twisting.i am in the middle of a flying v right now but that is my next project.have you seen moses graphite necks?

acrylic is cool....but doesn't it weigh a ton? I heard the acrylic Strat that was made for one of the NAMM shows weighed almost 20 lbs!!!!

I am sure weight can be control by the use of chamering.

What do you know about working with acrylic? I am interested also.

I have mainly worked with Polyester and Epoxy. Getting ready to try out Vinylester but can not find any in town.