Corain Repair Liquid For Inlays ?

Pibrocher

I install kitchen cabinets for a living and have conversed with several Corian counter-top installation friends. They showed me a liquid Corain repair liquid that struck me as an awesome way of doing inlay work. Simply route out the area you want inlayed then fill with the liquid Corian. The Corian sets up hard and can be sanded till flush with the surface of the guitar. The liquid also is available in as many colors as there are Corian types. Only problem seems to be acquiring the stuff.

Does anyone know where i can order some of this wonderful Corian repair liquid?

My installation friends said it is only sold to certified Corian installers. They let me borrow the gun used to mix and apply the Corian. It is similar to epoxy, as it comes unmixed and in two tubes. I can't seem to get any for my own personal use though.

I'd like to experiment more with it in my own time.

Cool idea. It's been tried with epoxy, dental amalgam, and solder, as far as I know. The main fault is that the routing has to be PERFECT, or your inlay comes out weird. With MOP or abalone, you can fill the gaps with epoxy and sawdust, and no one will ever know the diff. You don't have that liberty with liquid anything.

However, if all you want are dot inlays, it would look sick as heck.

Skibum5545 is totally correct.

Let me preface this with please no one take any offense to the following possibly frustrated tone of this post. :D

Unless your routing is absolutely perfect, and no not even CNC routing is, as all wood will fray a bit (shell can be sanded smooth, thereby defining a clean edge) it's going to look off.