A Player's Style

skye

Are you a fresh batch of style or something original?  

10 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Okay, first let me explain what I mean- cite off some of your influences and explain how they have crafted your style. Include what's shaped your tone, your fav gear, and your dream rig!

To begin, I've been playing for two years but have only recently become moderately skilled enough to pay any kind of homage to my heroes but, my biggest influences have been (in order of GtL impact) Hendrix, Stevie Ray, Dimebag and Miles Davis (though he's not a guitar hero).

Hendrix and Stevie ray brought to me that (inimitable) but subtle, round tone (that I have at long last coaxed out of my Peavey RAGE) minus the reverb that they used so beautifully in both the original and covered Little Wing and The Wind Cries Mary. Put simply, crank the tone on the amp all the way up, on the guitar, all the way down for the neck pup on your strat, and pour your soul into it.

Dimebag showed me first that pentatonics aren't dead, but are, in fact, the coolest scales ever when you blaze on em. (Put some shred in your warm single coil tone and you'll know what I mean).

And finally, Miles Davis, with his at times eccentric jazz, inspired a very open, improv-without-borders thought pattern in me, allowing me to see how outside tones (and relative major scales) work so well over minor romps (and vice-versa).

And, in that last point, I would so love a Marshall JCM 800, no master vol but healthy, hearty reverb and a '57 Strat reissue (left handed if I can get it customized).

R+R please!