Changing Out Pickups

ballcapdan

Howdy, a newbie question here:

I am going to swap out the pickups on my bass, and was wondering the best way. Is it ok to simply cut the wires on the old pickups, and solder them to the new wires? Or do I need to remove them from the pots and solder the new ones there?

I'm new at this, so ease is of great importance!!!

thx for the input.

[ Is it ok to simply cut the wires on the old pickups, and solder them to the new wires?

That's how I do it. Don't know if it's the best way, but it's easy. Plus there's no guessing about which wire goes where. And you don't have to worry about melting the pots.

I usually leave an inch or so coming off the pot --you want to leave plenty of wire on the old pickup

I would remove the old wires from the pots and solder the new pickups there. It will look neater and it also means your old pickups will still have plenty of wire left if you ever use them again. Just make sure to keep track of where the original wires were attached and don't let the pots get too hot.

[ It will look neater and it also means your old pickups will still have plenty of wire left if you ever use them again. Just make sure to keep track of where the original wires were attached and don't let the pots get too hot]

True, it looks neater. But who's peeking inside your guitar?

For me, ease of use/lower risk rules --especially since the OP admits to being a newbie.

For me, ease of use/lower risk rules --especially since the OP admits to being a newbie.

IMHO, it's much more difficult to solder two thin wires together than it is to solder a wire wrapped around a lug on a pot. Especially because you'll have one hand free to apply the solder. Also, when you are soldering wires together, you tend to hold the heat on a little longer. This can damage the components further on down the wire, the wire itself, and the insulation on the wire. You also have to use more heat-shrink tubing as well.