Surf Guitar!

Maher

Check out anything by Los Straitjackets. They are THE surf/instrumental band out there right now! And of course, Dick Dale, the King of surf guitar (check out his duet with SRV on "Pipeline"). Also pick up some CDs of Link Wray for some instrumentals that'll blow your socks off!

As for equipment - anything that rocks with a whole lot of REVERB!

I have a vintage '66 Teisco Del Rey "sharkfin" Japanese surf guitar, but my 60's Strat does it the best...

I'm no expert on surf, but how about Dick Dale? I think he used Fender guitars and amps. I also read somewhere that he used alot of MiddleEastern melodies as influences. And he certainly used alot of machine gun right hand speed picking.

The Ventures, maybe?

EDIT: You beat me to the Dick Dale thing, coolcat... :D

Dick Dale rocks! I saw him at Bumbershoot, in Seattle. The audience was mixed, from kids, pierced and tattooed young adults, to people old enough to have seen him back when. That little trumpet solo on "Misirlou", that's Dick. He had a long cable and waded out into the audience. He boasted about melting guitar picks and having his guitar strung with heavy gage "suspension bridge cable". Great showman, not to be missed.

Check out Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet, Man or Astroman?, Laika and the Cosmonauts...

• 1 month later...

Came to this thread late...but I couldn't resist making a confession...I really do like surf music...(in moderation, of course)...and here's why...

Firstly, I'd like to recommend the bands Slacktone and The Merman as two bands playing surf music that really takes it further...no offence Dick!

Instrumental guitar freaks should note that Joe Satriani considers a lot of his tunes "surf songs" and if you ignore the lack of reverb and the modern rock sound, you'll see why. My favorite guitar player is Jeff Beck and you can see a bit of the surf/hot rod style in the way he plays too