String Holding Thing

Hi,

I'm a total beginner to any guitar repair/maintenance so please bare with me.

This seems to me a pretty stupid question but I have read several of the articles and been unable to find the answer. The plastic thingy at the top of the guitar that holds the strings in place the '0' fret if you will what is this called?

Mine is damaged and I need to replace just this, is that possible and or easy?

would I have to take all the frets off?

Mainly I just need to find out its name so I can find out what it is I'm trying to fix.

Thanks,

Fred

:D

I wouldn't recommend yanking it off...might take some TLC to get it off. You 'might' be able to stick on a fender style strat replacement. I think they have two type, the arched version and the flat version (please correct me if i'm wrong) you will need to know which one you need.

It appears to be arched, thanks for your help,

no he means the bottom may be arched or flat. I would NOT recomend doing it yourself because (no offence) you dont know waht your doing. just bring it to a shop. I wont cost more than $30 and you'll get a perfectly cut nut and your guitar will be setup and play better than it ever has in the past.

Nut jobs around here seem to be going $50-$60.

i need to move to your neck of the woods..i charge $30 for a hand made nut. doesn't take too long and i scored a bunch of bone blanks from allparts last year on sale.

but you really should take it to a tech. he'll be able to cut the slots to the proper depth to insure that it will play it's best.

no he means the bottom may be arched or flat.  I would NOT recomend doing it yourself because (no offence) you dont know waht your doing.  just bring it to a shop.  I wont cost more than $30 and you'll get a perfectly cut nut and your guitar will be setup and play better than it ever has in the past.