Trussrods...?

Ok; I'm not a complete newb or anything, but I've got a few questions on truss rods.

1) Are they necessary? I understand the importance of thier function, but I've seen examples of guitars/basses with 5/7/9 piece necks, and they claim not to need truss rods... For example this site (found under tutorials section on the project-guitar main site)

2) Is there a reason you to get a double action over a single action (or vice-versa)?

3) Do you even need an action (could you instead use one or two reinforcement 'beams')?

4) Which kind is best suited to a neckthru (5 pc maple/ebony neck) 5 string bass?

Thanks in advance for any and all answers!

- Xander

I don't want to coma across like an a$$, but the answers to all your questions are easily found on this board if you do a search, but to get you started here you go;

1) No, they arent necessary but their is a reason why 99% of builders use one. It really deosnt matter if you have a 1-piece neck or a 100 piece, as long as its wood it is prone to warping and a method to correct that warp is advisable. Contrary to how it may appear a truss rod is not designed to re-enforce a neck.

2) A doble rod gives you the ability to correct front and/or backbow whereas a single rod only allows you to adjest one way, against the pull of the strings generally. Again, I suppose more options are better but a single rod should be fine IMO.

3) You could load your neck up with carbon rods or similar and hope you dont have any issues down the road. David Myka took this approach on a guitar but it wasnt a cost cutting or time saving decision but a weight issue. I bet if you ask him he will tell you it actually cost more, took more time and was more of a hassle than a regular truss rod.

4) I imagine that no one rod is better than the next for this application. Everyone has their preferences. Just look around and decide what works for you.