My First Selfbuilt Guitar Almost Finished

Last nite i finally put strings on my first guitar that I self had built. The guitar is not finished yet, electronics are missing, nut is still lose and the coating needs to be cleaned. I just could not resist trying how the guitar sounds and if it would play at all.. And yes it did play!:D I am more than happy how the guitar sounded without pickups.

I have been building this and a Les Paul shaped guitar for about 8 months now in my small basement workshop. Since myy budget is running very low, i decided to finnish this one first and wait to next autumn. I have messed up many times with this project, but everytime i have managed somehow to minimize the damage. Almost every possible stage has been done twice. I glued the fretboard indings twice, I needed to paint the guitar twice and so on..

I think the painting now looks pretty wild since I first stained the mahoganny body with gray stain. Then I filled the grains with red colour and sanded the filling away. By accident i sanded through the filling, acquer and stain. I thought it looked nice and decided to sand the edges of the body through to wood.

Here's the guitar:

DSC02018.jpg

Here is picture of the guitar body when the filling was put on.

Heres the guitar from the back when sanding away the first paint:

Neck Joint.

As I already said, I still have lots of work to do with the guitar, but now I can be pretty confident, that the guitar will be quite fine. I decided to try to do the pick-Up rings of mahoganny and do some wild shaping on them. The thrus rod cover on the head stock will be done f the rosewood that was left over from the fretboard.