Theory - Useless Bu##3h$t ?

psw

Hi...Theory a bunch of interlectual crap designed to inhibit the true players, or...

This post drew out of something that came to me when looking at a chord on another thread:

Your Favorite Chord Thread

When I studied it again I realised/recalled that there was a lot more to it and that you could use it to structure ideas that go beyond traditional concepts yet still be really accessable to most guitarists as it uses at it's core the basic minor pentatonic scale that we all know and love.

SO...I'll do it anyway...'cause I just like the sound of my own typing :D ...but, before I do i'd be interested to see what people think about theory and such and whether there's any interest in this kind of stuff.

Here's the post from the other thread...check out some other posts there to get a hint of what I'm suggesting in term's of new theory. As far as I know, this has not been discussed elsewhere before and, although some of the concepts are knew, as far as I know, the theory is my own...and it can be a bit of practical fun (ie...you can actually put this to use)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, I think I'll hit the forum with a new thread on this called The Secret Life of Pentatonics. Before I do, it would be interesting to know how much people know or want to know.

Personally, I did a University Degree majoring in Music but it was a little different to a normal music degree. Too often, music theory is taught with a classical bent that leaves your typical guitar player saying...yeah, yeah...so what!

I did a forum search on music theory and there is an anti-theory school out there. I don't blame people for feeling that way...so you can give a chord a name, big deal, we can both play it. Well, I don't play classical, jazz or whatever and it really has no use in what I wan't to do. And here's a fav...People who know theory can't play!