Cherryburst Lp-style

Deja

OK, I have built a les paul custom style body out of alder. I have sanded it perfectly and filled the grain. Now i am looking to get a good old cherryburst finish for a relatively cheap amount.

I have searched as much as i can in these forums and on other websites but i can't undestand how to do the burst finish so i have a few questions.

What sort of paints can i use to do this, e.g spray and what colors?(if possible list Places in australia, but not too important)

What is the basic process of doing this, please make this as detailed as possible because remember, i am a beginner.

What sort of finish do i put on it, last body i finished turned out terribly. How can i aplly this so it looks nice.

Where can i get a CUSTOM (note that word, don't rip my head off!) Headstock decal for a standard LP custom head in australia? I only want a fairly simple design.

Finally i was just wondering about where i could find p-90 soapbar pickups in australia, and for what sort of cost.

please reply soon :D

click here -> Brian's poor boy's burst

What sort of finish do i put on it, last body i finished turned out terribly. How can  i aplly this so it looks nice.

Polyurethane clear coat or nitro clear coat. Do a search, there's tons of info on both. The "nice" appearance comes from careful wet sanding between coates, finish sanding & buffing (also search). Practice both the paint burst and clear coating/buffing on scrap wood first so that you get the hang of it.

Where can i get a CUSTOM (note that word, don't rip my head off!) Headstock decal for a standard LP custom head in australia? I only want a fairly simple design.

You can find the split diamond decals on eBay; only place I've seen 'em.

Finally i was just wondering about where i could find p-90 soapbar pickups in australia, and for what sort of cost.