Wooden Bobbin Covers

i'm thinking about making wooden bobbin covers for my current project. i won't have any trouble making them but i'm wondering whether i need to remove the current plastic ones or glue the wooden ones over them. if i need to remove the old ones what's the best way to do that? one of the pups is an 80's gibson t-bucker so i don't want to mess it up.

i'm thinking about making wooden bobbin covers for my current project.  i won't have any trouble making them but i'm wondering whether i need to remove the current plastic ones or glue the wooden ones over them.  if i need to remove the old ones what's the best way to do that?  one of the pups is an 80's gibson t-bucker so i don't want to mess it up.

I've got no real experience with pickups, but my impression is that you really can't take the top of the bobbin off without making the whole thing collapse on itself. They're defining the coil shape and keeping the slugs in position. I'd say your best bet is veneering the tops, or just winding your own pickups :-)

well i'm glad i didn't take my pocket knife to that rascal today to see for myself. :D

seriously, thanks for the advice..i didn't have a clue. and it is just bobbin covers