My last aerosol can paint job...

The first time I painted a guitar with acrylic lacquer it did decent had some hints of orange peel.. although it sanded out nicely. But I started painting a bass guitar for a friend and am not please with the results.. basically the colors look streaky no matter which way I paint.. and I noticed it on the first guitar but this one is even worse because it's not mine and I want to do a very good job on this one... So I'm basically now discouraged with aerosol cans which I knew wasn't really the way to go in the first place. Tell me if I'm missing something here.. I just can't get the finish I'm looking for using aerosol cans. The things I see as a disadvantage are as follows: the painting fan(width of coverage) isn't very big thus you end up making more swipes at it and an HVLP paint rig will cover around 6" fan area.. so you have less streaks, unregulated paint volume(not a steady spray), and cost more... What do you think I should start using since I have access to a CapSpray 8100 paint rig that's real good.. Look.. I'm ready to ditch this aerosol cans.. and quick... Nitrocell? is that what everyone uses to get a great finish... help me out on how you mix this stuff... I'm looking at the StewMac book right now.. and wondering exactly what I need to order.. If anyone can tell me what to buy and how much I would appreciate it a bunch.. I will be staining and regular color finishing... and on Ash wood... Thanks

Matt