Tru-oil

Well it has been a few weeks since I finished my Koa and Ash guitar with tru-oil. I think the look is exactly what I wanted, but man it has not hardened worth a darn on the Koa. It is dry to the touch, but it scratches so easily. I am about to restrip the top and redo the finish. Like others, I used many 50/50 coats cut with Naptha.

Can I spray a coat of something over the oil to better protect the finish?

I am still new to doing finishes.

Thanks,

Bill

you'll want to make sure that you get all of the tru-oil off of the koa. if it's not completely cured now shooting poly over it will keep it from ever curing properly and could cause problems down the road.

lightly scuff the back of the guitar then take all of it off of the front. read the directions on the tru-oil bottle and see what they suggest you use for clean up..i.e. naptha, paint thinner, etc. wipe the front down several times with whatever material you choose and let it dry over night. you'll want to shoot both the front and the back with your poly or you're going to have different looks and a difficult time blending the two sides so that it looks good.

good luck.

you'll want to make sure that you get all of the tru-oil off of the koa. if it's not completely cured now shooting poly over it will keep it from ever curing properly and could cause problems down the road.

I will certainly do the whole guitar once I strip and reapply the tru-oil to the top. I guess my main concern is whether or not poly is a suitable to apply over the oil (based on the few responses - it seems okay). Again, I like the look of the oil, but I would also like a little harder finish.

Bill

i don't mean this as a smart alec reply but if the tru-oil didn't harden on the top the first time it's not likely to harden the second time. and spraying poly over it isn't going to give you an oil finish look..it's going to look like poly.