Tele Bridge Placement

:D I am new to this and this may be a stupid question. I am putting together a tele from purchased parts. I have a question about the bridge placement. This is a through the body set up. My body has holes for the strings but no holes drilled for the bridge. Do I use the string holes to line up and reference the placement of the bridge or is a better way? Thanks!

If you're lucky then your neck is going to align perfectly with the bridge and the string through holes...

So I'd say bolt the neck on first and see how things line up from there. Make sure your scale is right.

I just got done correcting a mistake on my tele --I'd put a 21-fret neck on a body set up for a 22 fret neck...I ended up having to shift the bridge back by about 8 mm)

If you're not lucky, then nothing is going to line up and you'll end up having to plug the string through holes and drilling new ones (I just converted my bridge plate to top-load, but I didn't have a string-through body anyway).

After my experience with the tele, I've decided that I'll never attempt a parts guitar again...it's much easier to build the body from scratch than to adapt everything afterward.

Scale length = distance from the nut to the bridge saddles. If a shorter neck is put in the scale length is therefore shortened and you have a mess to fix up because the frets on the neck are set for a 25.5" scale. You just cant intonate it right after that.

Short story....It'll sound like a POS

If the parts all fit the Fender specs, then they should be close enough to bolt together, no problems.

However, if say the neck pocket and neck are different (say a standard fender neck pocket and a 22 fret neck with no shelf or the neck is a different scale), then there are going to be problems and measurements will need to be taken.

I just got done correcting a mistake on my tele --I'd put a 21-fret neck on a body set up for a 22 fret neck...I ended up having to shift the bridge back by about 8 mm)