Design Is Creating Serious Concerns

I began drawing full scale blueprints for a modified PRS Macarty this weekend. Got the width at nut, width at bridge, width at body join, neck thickness, headstock angle, neck angle, dovetail tenon/mortise dimensions..... Then it occured to me that the neck humbucker is going to seriously impede the neck joint.

The issue I see is that there is almost no bearing for the glue joint to hold the neck in place since the neck humbucker is tucked up next to the end of the fingerboard.

This is my first attempt at a set neck. As I see it now, I have two solutions. 1) make a tenon that is long enought to go past the neck humbucker. This should give the stressed strength I need to keep the neck from snapping off, on the other hand it will make the joint visible and possibly a bitch to finish. 2) make a short but deep tenon that is covered by the humbucker, but is within the confines of the depth of the guitar.

Guitar specs as stands:

25.5 scale

HSH coil configuration

Hipshot Baby Grand Hardtail

Wizard II style neck

2" thick mahogony body that will be an uncapped solid finish

I am just unsure as to which way to best address this problem on paper before I begin wasting wood. I ran searches across the forum and came up with some really good info (just nothing that was a solution to this quandry)

Thanks for anything ya have to offer.

Nate Robinson :D

I suggest you go to Perrys site and look to the inprogress pics of the vine guitar or go to Mykas site and look at the hundred of pictures in progress that he have and you will see what you need to do!

It will take a few minutes of your time but the information those pics alone hold is worth hours of experimentation.