Refret And Scallop + New Nut

Bytrix

I just got my hands on a cheap 22 fret Yamaha neck which has a great feel to it but the first 5 frets are heavily worn on the bass end so I'm going to replace them, but I might aswell replace the whole lot (is it mad to attempt this if I've never done it before?).

I've always fancied having a go at scalloping one of my guitar necks but never built up the courage to try it on one of my 'proper' guitars, I think I might try with this neck, now onto the question :

Since I'm doing a refret and the scallop, would it be easier for me to remove all the frets, scallop, then put in some new frets ... or should I do it some other way around (attempt the scallop first, then remove/refret?..

Plus, does it make alot of difference what fretwire I use? I'm gonna be ordering some pickups from guitarpartsresource.com and mightaswell get some fretwire from there while I'm at it, any recommendations which I should get? I'm thinking I'll get the Dunlop Accu-Fret 6130.

and finally.. a new nut for the neck, graphtec tusq, or bone?.. The neck only cost me just over £20 and I want it to be really nice when I'm done with it.

A bone nut will give you the best tone and sustain (in my opinion). It's very hard and takes more work to file, but I found that a jeweler's saw works great for roughing it out. Cuts through it "like buttah". :D

If you're using a trem and you have stay-in-tune issues you might go for the Graphtech.

Mike