Building My New Guitar.

ok. so lately on the suggestion of a group of friends that i "need a new hobby besides making music" ive decided that i want to build a guitar.

ive built one before for a school major project.(it was a double necked lapsteel) so i have some sort of experience.

but i have this idea in my head, that i want to build a solid-body, neck-through guitar, similar to a gretsch white falcon II. (as far as i know, the white falcon is only single cutout, i want double cut out)

im thinking of puting this trem on it. bigsby b7

these machine heads gotoh vintage scalloped

as for the pick ups, i want to have a HH configuration, in the neck i want something that can get a nice jazzy tone, while for the bridge i want to get a garage blues crunch distortion/overdrive (although that probably has more to do with what pedals i use)

so any suggestions on what pick ups i could use would be a great help.

also for the neck, i have been thinking about building my own neck, but im not sure i could do it, mostly because i dont have access to alot of the tools i would need. so ive been thinking of getting this

as for looks, although i love a natural finish, with this guitar, i want to finish it with a white undercoat, then get a friend of mine to paint it psychedelic.

so what woods would you reccomend?

and finally, would anybody have basic measurements for a white falcon, or similar guitar?

just thought id ask, before i go down to the store and measure one up.

so anyway, to anyone who replies, thanks for the help, im getting excited about building this.

oh and one last thing, ive been trying to view the neck through tutorial in the other forum, but the pictures arent loading, is anyone else getting this or just me?

-chris :D

welcome to project guitar :D