Where To Start

ihocky2

I am a newbie and am in the design phase of m first project guitar. I have already bought Melvin Hiscocks book. I am planning on ordering a few other refernce materials to get additional knowledge before I get to far involved. MY question is, should I by a book on guitar wiring now or wait. I can go onto Seymour Duncans website or go through Hiscocks book or find schematics for basic wiring just about anywhere and understand them. I currently own only 1 Strat and am building a guitar with 2 humbuckers. I do not plan to do anything with it other than standard wiring. I am not sure if I will be building more after this so I do not know if I will ever get into coil taps, series/parallel, splitting or any of the other stuff (which I know almost nothing about). With only starting off basic is it worth it for me to buy a book explaining all of the other ways to wire up, when I won't be worrying about it for quite some time.

It all depends on how far into it you want to get. If you are just concerned about wiring up a guitar then all you really need is the internet resources available. It helps to have a good understanding about the basics , ie. grounding, resistance, capacitance etc. not to mention soldering. :D Its also nice to know what all the components really do and be able to predict how changes in their respective values will change the guitar's sound. If there are books available that are comparable to what you can find on the internet then it would be a worthwhile investment.