African Vs. North American Mahogany

Hey,

I am looking to buy some mahogany for my les paul project. The minimum order on wood is 8 feet, so I am hoping to build the neck and the guitar out of the same stuff. My options are african mahagony at 6$CAD/bf and north american mahogany at 12$CAD/bf. Keeping in mind that the neck is gonna be built from this, what do I choose? From my understanding they are both flatsawn, but I could be mistaken about the american; I'll double check later.

a) African (cheap)

:D American (Expensive)

c) Don't use a flatsawn lumber for a neck no matter how expensive it is

Thanks!

First, here is a good website that makes it easy to compare different woods and they give pretty nice notes on each type of wood. Plus they run some nice sales occasionally.

http://www.woodworkerssoursce.net

I am not an expert on woods, so you are probably better off getting that advice from someone else.

As for flatsawn for a neck you are fine. Cut severla pieces and glue them together to make a laminate neck. Then just turn it on it's side and it will be close to flatsawn and have plenty of strength.

As for flatsawn for a neck you are fine. Cut severla pieces and glue them together to make a laminate neck. Then just turn it on it's side and it will be close to flatsawn and have plenty of strength.

Flatsawn necks are fine, Gibson have been making Les Pauls out of flat sawn mahogany for years, I think you'll be fine :D

'North American Mahogany'? South American, maybe Central American, surely? Not heard of any actually mahogany timber coming out of the US.

As for African...depends. I've built necks with Khaya that hold up fine, some pieces I find a little too flexible. Sapele makes a great neck, though.