Fetzer-ruby Amp Questions

Tony Enamel

Hey all,

I'm a complete newb when it comes to electronics, HOWEVER, I am going to build myself a Fetzer-Ruby amp circuit to use with my sustainer experiments. Here's the schematic:

http://www.runoffgroove.com/fetzer-ruby.png

A couple questions:

1. I went to the store to get components (caps, etc) I found 100n and 100u caps but the all have different voltage ratings. What is the appropriate voltage rating?

2. I'm in Ontario and Circuit City (no Radio Shack) is the local electronics shop but they don't have J201, 2N5457 or MPF102. Where can I find these?

Thanks in advance. When I actually start building this thing there will be many more questions!

Dezz

Edited by Tony Enamel

1. Any voltage that is well above the supply voltage - for a 9 volt supply, 15 volt caps should be fine, although I occasionally use 50 volt or even 63 volt caps if they're less expensive or easier to get. You could actually use 630 volt Orange Drops in this circuit, but it would make the board huge, so i can't recommend it. :D
  2. Other JFETs that might work fairly well include BF245A, 2N5484 or just about any GP audio device, although the J201 is probably about optimal in this case. You may have difficulty finding any JFETs whatsoever at Circuit City - check to see if there isn't a store in your area that does radio repairs and such, they usually stock a few parts, and might have what you need. If not, I'm sure somebody in Toronto has something suitable, and there are several internet sources, notably Steve Daniels at Small Bear Electronics. If none of that gets you what you want, PM me - I'm sure we can come up with something workable to get you started. :D

Hey there Dezz...

I recall a place called hobbytron in canada that was selling kits, some even made up...some of LM386 amp modules and if I recall, possibly something with a preamp...