Saga Kits

I'm thinking about getting one of those SAGA kits to build my second guitar... since I have no experience in building whatsoever. The guitar I have is still the first one I've had, a cheap phony strat... and I havent gotten a new guitar even though my playing is more intermediate now than beginner...

So, should I just try to modify my current guitar (it IS quite heavy though, probably because of the body) or buy one of those kits?...

Perform a search on saga and you should come up with several threads related to these kits. (In case you haven't noticed it, the search link is at the upper right of the page). Here's one where a poster indicated that the hardware was less than ideal:

Saga Thread

Perform a search on saga and you should come up with several threads related to these kits. (In case you haven't noticed it, the search link is at the upper right of the page). Here's one where a poster indicated that the hardware was less than ideal:

Saga Thread

I'd most likely end up replacing most of the hardware anyway...

If I had the money I would be attempting to build my own custom guitar... but I have no idea how much that roughly costs for the wood and everything.

I'd most likely end up replacing most of the hardware anyway...

If I had the money I would be attempting to build my own custom guitar... but I have no idea how much that roughly costs for the wood and everything.

I understand. I'm new to this game as well and if you don't already have the tools, building gets expensive very quickly - at least in terms of up front costs. That's part of my ramp up right now as well.

As far as body blanks, there are many vendors out there. I was very happy with my purchase from Mammoth Guitars. The blank looks great, the price was excellent and I was very impressed with their level of service - very attentive and responsive. They are also an Allparts dealer and participate on this forum.