Can You Use 2 Similar Types Of Finish From Different Manufacturers?

fyb

I've been searching around some, and I can't seem to find an answer for this.

Say your color coat is an acrylic lacquer from brand X, can you usually use an acrylic lacquer clear coat from brand Y? I'm curious if you can generally follow a rule like this.

I'm a noob to finishing (if you couldn't tell :D) and I was thinking of using some Duplicolor for the color coat, but I've heard bad things about their clear coats around here (like taking forever to cure and what not). I'm thinking about using their metal specks paint on one guitar, and a red that matches the factory color of my car on another. Can I use something like Deft lacquer (which I've heard some good things about around here) or some other brand for a good clear coat??

Thanks for the help!

:D

While it is not usually recomended to mix brands, let alone types of laquer (acrylic and nitro), I would just say to try it on a test piece. I used Plastikote auto paint for my color layer which is an acrylic and have had no problem shooting DEFT over it. But that doesn't mean it will always work. If you are unsure, always test on scrap first.

While it is not usually recomended to mix brands, let alone types of laquer (acrylic and nitro), I would just say to try it on a test piece. I used Plastikote auto paint for my color layer which is an acrylic and have had no problem shooting DEFT over it. But that doesn't mean it will always work. If you are unsure, always test on scrap first.

I was wondering if the Deft is nitro or acrylic?

Thanks!